”Beyond the exhibiting of international art, Kunsthaus Göttingen sees itself as a place for education, communication and interaction with art.”

– Gerhard Steidl, Founding Director

About us

Kunsthaus Göttingen is an exhibition space for works on paper, photography and new media, which opened in June 2021. The exhibitions focus on contemporary art with an international orientation. In the curatorial planning, the focus is on close cooperation with the artists themselves, who not only get a stage for their work, but also the opportunity for new productions, collaborations and interactive projects.

Each year three to four exhibitions are planned as extensive solo or group exhibitions, which are shown on three levels in spacious gallery spaces. We offer a varied accompanying programme for each exhibition, especially for children and young people. Between larger exhibitions, short INBETWEEN exhibitions are continuously shown or test runs are held in which selected artists can try out the forms of presentation for their work.

Here you will find our Kunsthaus flyer for download!

Architecture and inner courtyard

Kunsthaus Göttingen was born out of the idea of ​​giving visual art more space and presence in the city of Göttingen. As early as 2008, the publisher Gerhard Steidl and the then-mayor Wolfgang Meyer presented the idea of ​​an art quarter with the Kunsthaus at the focal point.

The city has received funding of 4.5 million euros from the federal programme “National Projects of Urban Development” for the project planned together with Gerhard Steidl. The Duderstadt entrepreneur Hans Georg Näder supported the construction of the Kunsthaus with one million euros.

In 2016, the architecture studio Atelier ST from Leipzig was awarded the contract for the architectural and general planning at the Kunsthaus Göttingen after an international architectural competition. As a regional partner for the demanding task of construction management, the Göttingen-based ONP planungs + projekt GmbH was consulted from autumn 2017. As a contact person on site, they coordinated the work so that Atelier ST could concentrate on the artistic direction in the final phase of construction. The architects Silvia Schellenberg-Thaut and Sebastian Thaut combine tradition and the contemporary in their works. This is also the case with their concept for Kunsthaus Göttingen: its external appearance transforms typical regional details and geometries from the context of Göttingen’s old town development into an independent, modern museum architecture. The Berlin landscape architect Stefan Bernard won the competition for the design of the inner courtyard in 2017.


House

The four-storey house with pointed roof is based on the neighbouring half-timbered houses – here, too, the floor area expands upwards. The grooved plaster of the façade also evokes memories of warehouses from the street and the surrounding area. The foyer of the Kunsthaus is reached via the main entrance from Düstere Straße and offers a view of the green inner courtyard on the opposite side. On the right-hand side is the first gallery. The special feature of the building are three approximately 120 m2 large and 3.20 m high column-free gallery rooms. This allows maximum flexibility in the arrangement of different exhibition concepts across all floors. To protect the works on paper and enable video installations and projections, each gallery space has only one narrow, floor-to-ceiling window that can be covered if necessary. In addition to the three galleries, the house has a smaller exhibition space. On the top floor there is also an approximately 100 m2 »forum« for mediation work and special events. The Kunsthaus Göttingen thus has a total exhibition area of 500 m2 (incl. forum).


Garden

Through the foyer of the house you reach the courtyard. The Kunsthaus shares the courtyard with the bookshop Rote Straße. The courtyard is, as it were, the garden of the house. Not far from the main shopping streets it is a green oasis, a place of informal meeting, lingering and exchange. As in the past, there is also a children’s playground – making the place of encounter even more attractive. In addition, the courtyard also offers art appreciation: here visitors can expect a special highlight with the »House of Words« – a pavilion with the spatial installation »Poet Singing (The Flowering Sheets)« by the American Pop Art artist Jim Dine.

The ” House of Words” can be visited as part of special guided tours (see programme) with appropriate registration.

KuQua – Göttingen’s Art Quarter


Since 2008, Göttingen’s city council and the publisher Gerhard Steidl have been pursuing the idea of ​​an art quarter. Located in the historic core of the city between Düstere Strasse, Nikolaikirchhof, Nikolaistrasse and Turmstrasse, the district is already considered the “nucleus” of the Göttingen art scene with the studio of Jim Dine, a framing workshop, two bookbinderies, a private gallery, a bookshop, the literature centre, the offices of the Göttingen literary festival, an international publisher and a workshop for high-quality exhibition prints as well as various cafés and other small businesses. The Günter Grass Archive, which belongs to the University of Göttingen, has been active as an exhibition and event space since 2015. In 2016, it was awarded the “Monument Preservation Prize” by the Lower Saxony Savings Bank Foundation. Kunsthaus Göttingen enriches KuQua and thus the city of Göttingen with a central new building: a house with far-reaching appeal, whose exhibitions focus on current positions of international contemporary art of different media – an “art anchor” in southern Lower Saxony. As the heart of the art quarter, it promises a further, valuable revival of Göttingen’s cultural landscape and is thus the most important step in the development of the district. In line with the KuQua motto »A quarter becomes a whole«, Kunsthaus Göttingen is committed to a coexistence of the neighbouring institutions and focuses on joint events in the courtyard.

Team

For the construction and operation phase, the Kunsthaus Göttingen team consists of Founding Director Gerhard Steidl, Founding Managing Director Alfons von Uslar and the General Manager Dorle Meyer. Curator Ute Eskildsen and Guest Curator Joshua Chuang are responsible for the curation of the exhibitions. Additional team members are Education Officer Florian Winkler, technician Bartek Berbeka and Assistant Hannah Hempstead. Furthermore, fellow employees support the Kunsthaus in the areas of Education, Front of House and Invigilation.


Gerhard Steidl

In addition to operating his publishing house, Steidl Verlag, Founding Director Gerhard Steidl supports all aspects of the project. As early as 1969, he printed posters and multiples for artists such as Joseph Beuys and Klaus Staeck, and today publishes selected art and photography books, literature and political non-fiction. In addition to making books, Gerhard Steidl designs and curates exhibitions worldwide.

Contact:  info@kunsthaus-goettingen.de


Alfons von Uslar

Alfons von Uslar voluntarily supports the project as the Founding Managing Director. The trained agronomist and qualified lawyer returned to his hometown of Göttingen after several years overseas to run the family business. He has in-depth knowledge of business processes and legal requests combined with a great interest in art and culture.

Contact:  info@kunsthaus-goettingen.de


Dorle Meyer

Dorle Meyer, an art history doctorate, supports the Kunsthaus as Assistant Manager and Authorised Signatory. Alongside her research and education of contemporary art, she has worked for many years in museums supporting the establishment of new exhibition projects. Before returning to Göttingen to assist the development of Kunsthaus, she worked in Kassel, Berlin, as well as at Munich’s Deutsches Museum as a Project Manager and Curator for the expansion of its museum network.

Contact:  dm@kunsthaus-goettingen.de


Ute Eskildsen

Ute Eskildsen is the Founding Curator of Kunsthaus Göttingen. She advises Göttingen’s City Council on construction planning and is significantly involved in the orientation of the art institution’s programme. Eskildsen was Deputy Director of the Folkwang Museum in Essen, where she initiated, and managed, the photography department. Her curated photography exhibitions at the Folkwang Museum are famous beyond the borders of Germany.

Contact:  info@kunsthaus-goettingen.de


Joshua Chuang

Joshua Chuang is a Guest Curator of Kunsthaus Göttingen. As the first curator of the Art Gallery at Yale University, he established the photography section and worked there as its Chief Curator. Today he works as Head of the Wallach Division of Art, Prints & Photographs; and as a curator for photography at the New York Public Library alongside his teaching at Yale University School of Art.

Contact:  info@kunsthaus-goettingen.de


Florian Winkler

Florian Winkler heads the Education & Mediation department of the Kunsthaus. After studying sociology and political science in the documenta city of Kassel with a focus on cultural sociology, he worked at the Museumslandschaft Hessen Kassel in the field of museum education. He now actively contributes the knowledge that he gained on diversity-oriented projects and inclusive creative offers, as well as his additional experience through his involvement in child and youth welfare at various institutions, to Kunsthaus Göttingen.

Contact:  fw@kunsthaus-goettingen.de


Bartek Berbeka

Bartek Berbeka supports the team of Kunsthaus with this know-how in the field of home and event technology. After his business apprenticeship he moved relatively quickly into the cultural and event industry, where he worked independently for many years in the field of event planning and organization. Among other things, he owes his professional orientation to his great passion for music and audio technology, which he passes on voluntarily in workshops and his contributions to a radio broadcast in Göttingen.

Contact:  bb@kunsthaus-goettingen.de


Hannah Hempstead

Hannah Hempstead supports the Kunsthaus in the areas Front of House, Events and Social Media. After her studies in Fine Art and History of Art, with a practicing focus on printmaking and photography, at the London university Goldsmiths, she headed the Front of House of a private art gallery before moving to Göttingen in 2014.

Contact:  hh@kunsthaus-goettingen.de


Job vacancies

Internships

In principle we offer students in particular the chance to complete an internship at the Kunsthaus. Possible areas are in Public Relations as well as Education & Mediation. If you are interested please send your application with accompanying documents to Dr. Dorle Meyer at dm@kunsthaus-goettingen.de. Due to high demand, it is advisable to inquire with sufficient notice.

Vacancies

There are currently no vacancies.

X

»Über die Ausstellung internationaler Kunst hinaus versteht sich das Kunsthaus Göttingen als Ort für Bildung, Vermittlung und Interaktion mit Kunst.«

– Gerhard Steidl, Gründungsdirektor

Über Uns

Das Kunsthaus Göttingen ist ein Ausstellungshaus für Arbeiten auf Papier, Fotografie und neue Medien, das im Juni 2021 eröffnet hat. Der Ausstellungsschwerpunkt liegt auf zeitgenössischer Kunst mit internationaler Ausrichtung. Bei der kuratorischen Planung steht die enge Zusammenarbeit mit den Künstler*innen selbst im Vordergrund, die damit nicht nur eine Bühne für ihre Arbeiten, sondern auch die Chance für Neuproduktionen, Kooperationen und interaktive Projekte bekommen.

‍Pro Jahr sind drei große Ausstellungen als umfangreiche Einzel- oder Gruppenausstellungen geplant, die auf drei Ebenen in großzügigen Galerieräumen gezeigt werden. Zu jeder Ausstellung bieten wir ein vielfältiges Begleitprogramm, insbesondere für Kinder und Jugendliche. Kontinuierlich werden zwischen größeren Ausstellungen kurze INBETWEEN- Ausstellungen gezeigt oder Testläufe veranstaltet, in denen ausgewählte Künstler*innen die Präsentationsformen für ihre Arbeit erproben können.

Hier finden Sie unseren  Kunsthaus-Flyer zum Download!

Architektur und Innenhof

Die Idee für das Kunsthaus Göttingen wurde aus dem Gedanken heraus geboren, bildender Kunst mehr Raum und Präsenz in der Stadt Göttingen zu geben. Bereits 2008 stellten der Verleger Gerhard Steidl und der damalige Oberbürgermeister Wolfgang Meyer die Idee eines Kunstquartiers mit dem Kunsthaus als Mittelpunkt vor.

Die Stadt hat für das gemeinsam mit Gerhard Steidl geplante Projekt Fördermittel in Höhe von 4,5 Millionen Euro aus dem Bundesprogramm »Nationale Projekte des Städtebaus« erhalten. Der Duderstädter Unternehmer Hans Georg Näder unterstützte den Bau des Kunsthauses mit einer Million Euro.

2016 bekam das Architekturstudio Atelier ST aus Leipzig nach einem internationalen Architektenwettbewerb den Zuschlag für die Architektur- und Generalplanung am Kunsthaus Göttingen. Als regionaler Partner für die anspruchsvolle Aufgabe der Bauleitung wurde ab Herbst 2017 die Göttinger ONP planungs + projekt GmbH hinzugezogen. Als Ansprechpartner vor Ort die Arbeiten koordinierte, so dass das Atelier ST sich in der Endphase des Baus auf die künstlerische Oberleitung konzentrieren konnte. Die Architekten Silvia Schellenberg-Thaut und Sebastian Thaut verbinden in ihren Arbeiten Tradition und Gegenwart. So auch bei ihrem Konzept für das Kunsthaus Göttingen: Seine äußere Erscheinung transformiert regionaltypische Details und Geometrien aus dem Kontext der Göttinger Altstadtbebauung in eine eigenständige, moderne Museumsarchitektur. Der Berliner Landschaftsarchitekt Stefan Bernard gewann 2017 den Wettbewerb für die Gestaltung des Innenhofs. 

Haus

Das viergeschossige Haus mit Spitzdach orientiert sich an den benachbarten Fachwerkhäusern – auch hier erweitert sich nach oben hin die Grundfläche. Der gerillte Putz der Fassade weckt zudem Erinnerungen an Lagerhäuser aus der Straße und Umgebung. Das Foyer des Kunsthauses wird über den Hauptzugang von der Düsteren Straße betreten und gibt auf der gegenüberliegenden Seite den Blick zum begrünten Innenhof frei. Rechter Hand liegt die erste Galerie. Die Besonderheit des Baus sind drei ca. 120 m2 große und 3,20 m hohe stützenfreie Galerieräume. Dies erlaubt über alle Geschosse ein Höchstmaß an Flexibilität im Arrangement verschiedener Ausstellungskonzeptionen. Um die Papierarbeiten zu schützen und Videoinstallationen und Projektionen zu ermöglichen, hat jeder Galerieraum nur ein schmales, bodentiefes Fenster, das bei Bedarf verdeckt werden kann. Zusätzlich zu den drei Galerien verfügt das Haus über einen kleineren Ausstellungsraum. Im Dachgeschoss gibt es zudem ein ca. 100 m2 großes »Forum« für Vermittlungsarbeit und Sonderveranstaltungen. Das Kunsthaus Göttingen hat damit insgesamt eine Ausstellungsfläche von 500 m2 (inkl. Forum).

Garten

Durch das Foyer des Hauses erreicht man einen Innenhof. Das Kunsthaus teilt sich den Innenhof mit dem Buchladen Rote Straße. Der Hof ist gleichsam Garten des Hauses. Unweit der Haupteinkaufsstraßen liegt damit eine grüne Oase, ein Ort des zwanglosen Zusammentreffens, Verweilens und Austausches. Wie bereits in der Vergangenheit gibt es an dieser Stelle auch wieder einen Kinderspielplatz – der Ort der Begegnung wird damit zusätzlich attraktiv. Darüber hinaus bietet der Hof auch Kunstgenuss: hier erwartet die Besucher mit dem »House of Words« – einem Pavillon mit der Rauminstallation »Poet Singing (The Flowering Sheets)« des US-amerikanischen Pop-Art-Künstlers Jim Dine – ein besonderes Highlight. Das House of Words gibt während der Öffnungszeiten des Kunsthauses am Wochenende (14-18 Uhr auf Nachfrage an der Kasse) Einblicke in ein beeindruckendes Skulpturenensemble mit einer zentralen Porträtbüste Jim Dines und raumgreifende Wandzeichnungen. 

KuQua – Das Kunstquartier

Seit 2008 verfolgen die Stadt Göttingen und der Verleger Gerhard Steidl die Idee des  Kunstquartiers . Es liegt zwischen Düsterer Straße, Nikolaikirchhof, Nikolaistraße und Turmstraße im historischen Kern der Stadt. Im Quartier befinden sich schon heute, als »Keimzellen« des Kunstquartiers, ein Künstler-Atelier, eine Werkstatt für handwerkliche Bilderrahmenherstellung, zwei Buchbindereien, eine private Bildergalerie, ein Buchladen, das Literarische Zentrum, das Büro des Göttinger Literaturherbstes, ein international tätiger Verlag für Literatur und Fotografie und ein Studio für hochwertige Ausstellungsdrucke. Als Ausstellungs- und Veranstaltungsort ist das Günter-Grass-Archiv, das zur Universität Göttingen gehört, seit 2015 in Betrieb. Es wurde im Jahr 2016 mit dem »Preis für Denkmalpflege« der Niedersächsischen Sparkassenstiftung ausgezeichnet. Das Kunsthaus Göttingen bereichert das KuQua und damit die Stadt Göttingen um einen zentralen neuen Baustein: ein Haus mit weitreichender Strahlkraft, dessen Ausstellungsschwerpunkt auf aktuellen Positionen der internationalen Gegenwartskunst unterschiedlicher Medien liegt – einen “Kunstanker” in Südniedersachsen. Als Herzstück des Kunstquartiers verspricht es eine weitere, wertvolle Belebung der Göttinger Kulturlandschaft und ist damit der wichtigste Schritt in der Quartiersentwicklung. Ganz im Sinne des KuQua-Mottos »Ein Viertel wird ein Ganzes« setzt sich das Kunsthaus Göttingen für ein Miteinander der benachbarten Einrichtungen ein und setzt auf gemeinsame Events im Innenhof.

Team

Für die Bauphase und den Betrieb in den ersten Jahren besteht das Team des Kunsthauses Göttingen aus der Geschäftsführerin Dr. Dorle Meyer, dem ehrenamtlichen Gründungsdirektor Gerhard Steidl und dem Prokuristen Alfons von Uslar. Die Kuration wird neben Herrn Steidl von hochkarätigen, wechselnden Gastkuratoren übernommen. Weitere Teammitglieder sind der Ausstellungspädagoge Florian Winkler, der Event- und Haustechniker Bartek Berbeka und Hannah Hempstead für den Bereich Empfang und Social Media. Zusätzlich unterstützen freie Mitarbeiter*innen die Arbeit im Bereich Vermittlung, Kasse und Aufsicht.

Gerhard Steidl

Gerhard Steidl bringt sich als ehrenamtlicher Gründungsdirektor mit Ausstellungskurationen am Kunsthaus ein. Er führt den Steidl Verlag in der Nähe des Kunsthauses Göttingen. Bereits 1969 druckte er Plakate und Multiples von Künstlern wie Joseph Beuys und Klaus Staeck und verlegt heute ausgewählte Kunst- und Fotografiebände, Literatur und politische Sachbücher. Neben dem Büchermachen konzipiert und kuratiert Gerhard Steidl Ausstellungen weltweit.

Kontakt:  info@kunsthaus-goettingen.de


Dorle Meyer

Dr. Dorle Meyer leitet als Geschäftsführerin das Kunsthaus und die Belange der gGmbH. Die promovierte Kunsthistorikerin hat neben Forschung und Lehre zu klassischer Moderne und zeitgenössischer Kunst viele Jahre im musealen Bereich gearbeitet. Nach Stationen in Kassel und Berlin war sie zuletzt als Projektmanagerin und Kuratorin am Deutschen Museum für den Aufbau des Zukunftsmuseums Nürnberg engagiert. 2020 kehrte sie nach Göttingen zurück und begleitete die Inbetriebnahme des Hauses zunächst als Prokuristin.

Kontakt:  dm@kunsthaus-goettingen.de


Alfons von Uslar

Alfons von Uslar unterstützt das Kunsthaus als Prokurist, nachdem er die gGmbH in der Gründungsphase bereits ehrenamtlich als Geschäftsführer geleitet hat. Der gelernte Landwirt und diplomierte Jurist ist nach mehrjährigen Auslandsaufenthalten in seine Heimatstadt Göttingen zurückgekehrt, um das Familienunternehmen zu führen. Fundierte Kenntnisse betriebswirtschaftlicher Abläufe und juristischer Fragen verbinden sich bei ihm mit einem großen Interesse an Kunst und Kultur.

Kontakt:  info@kunsthaus-goettingen.de


Florian Winkler

Florian Winkler leitet die Bildung & Vermittlung des Kunsthauses. Nach seinem Studium der Soziologie und Politikwissenschaften in der documenta-Stadt Kassel mit dem Schwerpunkt Kultursoziologie arbeitete er bei der Museumslandschaft Hessen Kassel im Bereich Museumspädagogik. Das dabei gesammelte Wissen über diversitätsorientierte Projekte und inklusive Kreativangebote sowie seine zusätzlichen Erfahrungen durch sein Engagement in der Kinder- und Jugendhilfe bei verschiedenen Trägern, bringt er nun tatkräftig im Kunsthaus Göttingen ein.

Kontakt:  fw@kunsthaus-goettingen.de


Bartek Berbeka

Bartek Berbeka unterstützt das Team des Kunsthauses mit seinem Know-how im Bereich der Haus- und Eventtechnik. Nach seiner kaufmännischen Ausbildung zog es ihn relativ schnell in die Kultur- und Eventbranche, in der er viele Jahre selbstständig im Bereich Veranstaltungsplanung und -organisation gearbeitet hat. Seine berufliche Orientierung verdankt er unter anderem seiner großen Leidenschaft zur Musik und Audiotechnik, die er ehrenamtlich im Rahmen von Workshops weitergibt und in einer Radiosendung in Göttingen einbringt.

Kontakt:  bb@kunsthaus-goettingen.de


Hannah Hempstead

Hannah Hempstead unterstützt das Kunsthaus in den Bereichen Empfang, Veranstaltungen und Social Media. Nach ihrem Studium der Bildenden Kunst und Kunstgeschichte an der Londoner Universität Goldsmiths mit einem praktizierenden Fokus auf Fotografie und Druckgrafik arbeitete sie in einer privaten Galerie als Leiterin des Empfangs, bevor sie 2014 nach Göttingen umzog.

Kontakt:  hh@kunsthaus-goettingen.de


Freie Mitarbeiter*Innen „Führungen“, Kassen- & Aufsichtskräfte

Der Betrieb des Hauses wird von einem engagierten Pool von Mitarbeiter*Innen im Bereich Kasse, Aufsicht und Führungen unterstützt. Hier haben auch Studierende die Möglichkeit erste Einblicke in den Kunstbetrieb zu gewinnen.

Stellenangebote

‍Praktika 

Grundsätzlich bieten wir insbesondere Studierenden die Möglichkeit ein Praktikum an unserem Haus zu absolvieren. Mögliche Bereiche sind insbesondere die Öffentlichkeitsarbeit sowie Bildung & Vermittlung. Bei Interesse bewerben Sie sich gerne und schicken Ihre Unterlagen an Dr. Dorle Meyer unter  dm@kunsthaus-goettingen.de . Wegen hoher Nachfrage empfiehlt es sich mit ausreichendem Vorlauf anzufragen.

Stellen

Derzeit gibt es keine freien Stellen.