printing futures

June 18 – September 25, 2022


about

This year, documenta will also be a guest in Göttingen for the first time! Under the title printing futures, Kunsthaus Göttingen presents ten international artists as a partner project of documenta fifteen, who deal with paper as an artistic medium in their work.

Paper is a material available everywhere, from rare art papers to simple everyday papers – printed or unprinted. White and full of potential, it can be used in a variety of ways. For documenta fifteen, Kunsthaus Göttingen will be transformed into a House of Paper, in which the participating artists will exhibit their works on various papers or demonstrate how the paper changes as the works of art develop over time.

Coming from Turkey, India, the USA, Bangladesh, Singapore, England, Lebanon and Germany, the artists will present new works.

On the other hand, some of them will also work on art projects directly on site at the Kunsthaus Göttingen and enter into dialogue with the visitors. The exchange with the documenta artists residing in Kassel, as well as the process-oriented Kassel project lumbung press, will also result in books that will be printed by the Steidl publishing house in Göttingen. These will not be catalogues, but in turn art objects that form the memory of this year’s documenta.

As part of printing futures and lumbung press, documenta fifteen and Kunsthaus Göttingen are realizing joint events, publications and residencies.

Opening times: Wed/Fri.- Sun. 11am – 6pm & Thur. 11am – 8pm

Free Admission* (Sponsor Sartorius)

Programme (to download)

exhibition

The versatile project printing futures combines contributions by the artists Shahidul Alam (Bangladesh), Alper Aydin (Turkey), Theseus Chan (Singapore), Jim Dine (USA), Christoph Heubner (Germany), Sibel Horada (Turkey), Sofia Karim (England), Maya Mercer (USA), Albert Ostermaier (Germany) and Dayanita Singh (India) at three neighbouring locations within the Göttingen Art Quarter between Düstere Straße and Nikolaistraße adjacent to the Nikolaikirchhof. Nine artists will be presented at Kunsthaus Göttingen. Jim Dine will be exhibiting in the Oschmann House (Düstere Straße 26), and in the new Literaturhaus Göttingen performative events by Albert Ostermaier will temporarily tie in with the works by Maya Mercer shown at the Kunsthaus.

programme

steidl publishers – documenta fifteen / lumbung press

Only a few houses away from Kunsthaus Göttingen is the print and publishing house Steidl, where all processes of book production take place under one roof. Through the collaboration of Steidl, documenta fifteen and lumbung press – the latter a printing press installed in the documenta Halle in Kassel at which documenta artists test book and newspaper projects – Steidl will print, publish and distribute a new book for each artist exhibiting in the printing futures project.

Using offset printing and bookbinding as creative media, Steidl-documenta fifteen / lumbung press will implement the artists’ ideas in a variety of book objects that form a tangible and lasting memory of their contributions to documenta fifteen.

To illustrate the processes, Steidl will provide insights behind the scenes in August/September as part of a “Transparent Publishing House”.

Publishing projects – Kassel / Göttingen

Steidl Verlag – documenta15 / lumbung press

La Intermundial Holobiente / Argentina

Wajukuu Art Project / Kenia

Britto Arts Trust / Bangladesh

Further information on Steidl Publishers can be found at: steidl.de

partners

Credits: documenta fifteen, ruruHaus, Kassel, 2021, Foto: Nicolas Wefers

In 2022, Kassel will once again be the focus of international attention for 100 days: from 18 June to 25 September, documenta fifteen will take place – the fifteenth edition of documenta, which is considered one of the world’s most important exhibitions of contemporary art since 1955. Every five years it brings together international artists, cultural workers and visitors. The documenta has thus developed into a seismograph for international contemporary art and its engagement with current social issues. With ruangrupa, an artists’ collective is curating the documenta for the first time. The core group of nine artists from Jakarta, Indonesia, realises exhibitions, festivals and other projects together. Their work is based on a holistic social, spatial and personal practice in which values such as friendship, solidarity and community are of central importance.


More information on documenta can be found here.

sponsors & supporters

X

printing futures

18. Juni – 25. September 2022

about

Im diesem Jahr ist die documenta zum ersten Mal auch in Göttingen zu Gast! Das Kunsthaus Göttingen präsentiert unter dem Titel printing futures als Partnerprojekt der documenta fifteen zehn internationale Künstler*Innen, die sich in ihrer Arbeit mit Papier als künstlerischem Medium auseinandersetzen.

Papier ist ein überall verfügbares Material, von seltenen Kunstdruckpapieren bis hin zu einfachen Alltagspapieren – bedruckt oder unbedruckt. Weiß und voller Potenzial kann es auf vielfältige Weise genutzt werden. Für die documenta fifteen wird das Kunsthaus Göttingen in ein Haus des Papiers („House of Paper“) verwandelt, in dem Werke der teilnehmenden Künstler*Innen auf verschiedenen Papieren ausgestellt bzw. Wege des Papiers in der Erarbeitung von Kunstwerken gezeigt werden.

Aus der Türkei, Indien, den USA, Bangladesch, Singapur, England, dem Libanon und Deutschland kommend, werden die Künstler*Innen zum einen neue Werke vorstellen.

Zum anderen werden sie teils auch direkt vor Ort im Kunsthaus Göttingen an Kunstprojekten arbeiten und mit den Besucher*Innen in Dialog treten. Im Austausch mit den documenta-Künstler*Innen in Kassel bei Residencies werden aus den Ausstellungen und Interaktionen in Kassel und Göttingen, sowie und im Rahmen des prozessorientierten Kasseler Projekts lumbung press zudem Bücher entstehen, die im Göttinger Steidl Verlag gedruckt werden. Keine Kataloge, sondern wiederum Kunstobjekte, die das Gedächtnis dieser documenta bilden.

Öffnungszeiten: Mi/ Fr-So 11-18 Uhr & Do 11-20 Uhr

Eintritt frei * (Sponsor Sartorius)

Ausstellungsflyer (zum Downloaden)

Begleitprogramm (zum Downloaden)

ausstellung

Das vielseitige Projekt printing futures verbindet Ausstellungsbeiträge von den Künstler*Innen Shahidul Alam (Bangladesch), Alper Aydın (Türkei), Theseus Chan (Singapur), Jim Dine (USA), Christoph Heubner (Deutschland), Sibel Horada (Türkei), Sofia Karim (England), Maya Mercer (USA), Albert Ostermaier (Deutschland) und Dayanita Singh (Indien) an drei benachbarten Standorten innerhalb des Göttinger Kunstquartiers zwischen Düsterer Straße und Nikolaistraße angrenzend an den Nikolaikirchhof. Im Kunsthaus Göttingen werden neun Künstler*Innen präsentiert. Im Oschmann- Haus nebenan (Düstere Straße 26)- wird Jim Dines seine Installation „Electrolyte in Blue“ ausstellen und im neuen Literaturhaus Göttingen werden zeitweise performative Veranstaltungen von Albert Ostermaier an die im Kunsthaus gezeigten Werke von Maya Mercer anknüpfen.


begleitprogramm

steidl verlag – documenta fifteen / lumbung press

Nur wenige Häuser vom Kunsthaus Göttingen entfernt, befindet sich das Druck- und Verlagshaus Steidl, in dem alle Prozesse der Buchherstellung unter einem Dach stattfinden. Durch die Zusammenarbeit von Steidl, documenta fifteen und lumbung press – einer in der documenta-Halle/ Kassel installierten Druckmaschine an der documenta-Künstler*Innen Buch- bzw. Zeitungsprojekte erproben – wird Steidl für jede/n Künstler*In des Projekts printing futures ein neues Buch drucken, veröffentlichen und weltweit vertreiben. Unter Verwendung von Offsetdruck und Buchbinderei als kreative Medien wird die Steidl-documenta fifteen / lumbung press – vor den Augen der Öffentlichkeit die Ideen der Künstlerinnen und Künstler in vielfältigen Buchobjekten umsetzen, die eine greifbare und bleibende Erinnerung an ihre Beiträge zur documenta fifteen bilden.

Zur Veranschaulichung der Prozesse gewährt Steidl im August/ September im Rahmen eines „Gläserne Druckerei“ Einblicke hinter die Kulissen.

Verlagsprojekte – Kassel / Göttingen

Steidl Verlag – documenta15 / lumbung press

La Intermundial Holobiente / Argentinien

Wajukuu Art Project / Kenia

Britto Arts Trust / Bangladesch

Nähere Informationen zum Steidl Verlag finden Sie unter: steidl.de

partner

documenta fifteen, kassel

Credits: documenta fifteen, ruruHaus, Kassel, 2021, Foto: Nicolas Wefers

2022 steht Kassel wieder 100 Tage lang im Fokus der internationalen Öffentlichkeit: Vom 18. Juni bis 25. September findet die documenta fifteen statt – die fünfzehnte Ausgabe der documenta, die als eine der weltweit bedeutendsten Ausstellungen zeitgenössischer Kunst seit 1955 gilt. Alle fünf Jahre bringt sie internationale Künstler*innen, Kulturschaffende und Besucher*innen zusammen. Die documenta hat sich so zu einem Seismografen für die internationale zeitgenössische Kunst und ihre Auseinandersetzung mit aktuellen gesellschaftlichen Themen entwickelt. Mit ruangrupa kuratiert erstmalig ein Künstler*innenkollektiv die documenta. Die im Kern neunköpfige Gruppe aus Jakarta, Indonesien, realisiert gemeinschaftlich Ausstellungen, Festivals und andere Projekte. Dabei beruht ihre Arbeit auf einer ganzheitlichen sozialen, räumlichen und persönlichen Praxis, in der Werte wie Freundschaft, Solidarität und Gemeinschaft eine zentrale Bedeutung haben.

Mehr Informationen zur documenta finden Sie hier.

sponsoren & förderer
X